A Lesson 20 Years in the Making

sexuality, sex blogs, sex , erotica female, eroticaA few days ago, The Marine and I celebrated our 20th wedding anniversary.  Most people grin at us with astonishment and comment that we do not look like we have been married 20 years.  I hear this so often it is amusing now.

What is truly ironic is the way we celebrated our 20th anniversary.  You see, in early February, The Marine was laid off from his job of over 14 years. 

While this is not what we would like to happen, we know we are really blessed, so we count our blessings instead of our curses.

A friend of mine always says, “Everything will be ok in the end.  And, if it is not ok, then it is not the end!”  I agree with her.

But, as The Marine was summons to the Unemployment office on the morning of our anniversary, I was a little ill at the true incompetency that kept him there for four hours repeating information entered into record two short months before.  At the desk, the receptionist was one of the rudest human beings on the earth.  Of course, knowing that it was our anniversary that day, we tried to get this matter taken care of the day before when he received the notice only to be told that we were 15 minutes too late for that day even though they did not close for another hour. 

The rude receptionist said with a smile, “Go home, get a good night’s sleep, and come back in the morning.”  Moron.  The irony was not lost on me that the economy would keep this “civil servant” (how funny is that term?) in a job for a long time!

As I grew angrier at their degrading tone and bureaucratic bullshit, I watched them treat the most incredible person in the world with enough disrespect to warrant a swift slap to the back of the head in true V8 style.  In the same breath I realize what the lesson was for me in spending the morning of my anniversary in the Unemployment office with The Marine.

It was that, after 20 years, the “for better or worse” portion of our wedding vows still meant that in the worst of times, together we were still better.  After 20 years of marriage, we still have each other’s back enough to follow each other into pain, sorrow, and unhappiness knowing that the comfort of two cuts it in half. 

In truth, he did not want me to go with him, but like when he went to the hospital with me during the breast cancer issues…‘in sickness and in health”…I was as proud to stand by him that day as I was 20 years before. 

The good times are easy and that day, I can say I was truly blessed.  ~~Dee

8 thoughts on “A Lesson 20 Years in the Making

  1. Sorry for the late congratulations, but congratulations! You truly are blessed. I envy you your relationship and really want to know your secrets!

  2. I’m glad you two have each other’s back.

    I still would have slapped her upside her head.

    Next time maybe the Marine can say “can I have your job since I can be nicer to the millions of people who need a ray of sunshine in their storm ridden worlds”?

  3. congratulations, sorry i’m late as well

    ironically the ex used to tell me that whatever was bothering me didn’t matter as long as we had each other and the kids … everything else would work itself out

    this was obviously just lip service since he’s no longer around … but i do believe it can happen when both people are committed to it

    i would have slapped her too!!

  4. TG–Definately about the commitment….and my overwhelming want to slap the hell out her. Should have. After all, you would have bailed me out of jail right?? ~~Dee

Leave a Reply

