The Secret of Life…

sexuality, sex blogs, sex , erotica female, erotica“I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I needed to be.”–Douglas Adams

Strange as it may seem, I always believe that the New Year officially starts on January 3rd.  I know, this leaves me two days behind, but I can justify it with the rationality that there are only 363 days in each year.  

See…logic!  All it took was the redesign of natural astronomical and physical law.  Aren’t I cleaver?  I might try world peace on for size later this month.  Not now, I am still trying to get over the trip to the bowl game in Atlanta where LSU found out that Hornets taste like chicken.  But the first two days of every year are like shell shock.  We end up trying to shake off the haze of ringing in a New Year.

But…I digress.  Most people make New Year’s resolutions.  Promise to lose weight or exercise more or eat better.  And, those things last about as long as it takes you to read to the end of this post.  In reality, I think that the major reason that people miss out on achieving their New Year’s resolutions is because they are trying to become a different person instead of bring happiness to the person they see in the mirror.  You see…I know the secret of life.  It so simple I am confused why people do not see it. No rocket science here! 

Ready…

Are you sure?

Change what you do not like in your life.

That’s it.  Stop reading…go and be happy.  End of story.

What…still here?  Huh.  Well…what’s the hold up? 

  • Are you scared of change?
  • Do you not know how to make a change?
  • Do you fear failure?
  • Do you fear success?

In truth, none of these reasons are good enough not to make the changes you want in your life.  You know that or you would not have read this far.  You see, there are a million reasons not to change…as many as there are stars in the sky.  But I can only think of one reason to change.  Life is short. 

Right…not a revelation.  Life is short.  Then, why are we approaching it like there are countless tomorrows?  Let’s face it, if you started a list of six things you wanted to accomplish this year and worked for two months on each thing….you would be blown away by the end of the year what you had done…even if you only accomplished half.  Here is a way to get started….

  1. Categorizing…everything, for example, for me falls into four major categories of measurement. 
  2. Add an achievement next to each of those categories that includes clear point of achievement.
  3. Make your goals public.  When you tell others, you are more likely to strive to meet your goals.
  4. A slip is not a reason to fall off the wagon.  Accept your humanity, give yourself a break, and get going again.

Here is my effort for 2009:

  • Love—Invest more time with the people I love.  Tell them that I love them and invest in the moment when I am talking, texting, or emailing them.  Be really involved in each step of making a moment into a memory by realizing that there is a difference between spending and investing time.
  • Money—Expand my business horizons with additional services and employees.  Start to bring more people into my structures and really step up into a managerial role.  Examine the possibility that The Marine might make a stellar VP of Operations and mentor him in that capacity.
  • Health—Realize that health is a very delicate thing.  I have lost weight over this year and struggled with it constantly due to my epilepsy medications.  My family and friends have had health issues.  By re-centering myself with simple steps like walking more or drinking more water (I am a soda freak—not had a soda in two days!!), I am making a conscious effort to make good lifestyle decisions instead of major life changes.
  • Dream—I have started two books.  Ok…three.   Gemini!  My mind moves through ideas like most men go through underwear.  But, my dream is write a book.  I am dedicating myself to 20 pages a month with the possibility of doing a 3 for 1 when possible.  (3 for 1 in the real estate industry denote an extra note every three months to achieve early pay off.  So, every 3rd month, I would write an extra number of pages.)

Now, I will tell you that I started down the road to the first goal early.  I gave only Christmas presents this year that required me to invest time with the receiver.  Pedicures with both my sister-in-laws, lunch certificates with my mother, bowl game with The Marine and my father, invitation to lunch with My Favorite Scorpio….investing time with each of these people to show them that they are important to me with the knowledge that my time is the one thing that I can give them that no one else on the planet can give.

Well…You know the secret of life…what will you do with it in 2009?  Please share…  ~~Dee

6 thoughts on “The Secret of Life…

  1. This is a very powerful message to me because I have spent many years of my life living in the past and having too many regrets. I have always had low self-esteem and I have never thought of myself as sexy, no matter how many times my husband told me otherwise. However, recently, a very beautiful and smart lady made me realize that life is short and you have got to accept who you are and what you are and just embrace it. Also, that every moment spent together is precious and worth holding on to. This is my life and it is going to be what I make of it. This lady is my sis and I have always looked up to her and treasured everything that we did together. I admire her so much and I just never really listened to what she was saying until now. I guess I just needed to grow up and live a little for myself in order to see this. My resolution is a little different this year….Every year I say that I will go on a diet and be a better person..blah…blah..

    This year, I am going to love the person that I am and live life to the fullest. I will spend as much time with my family as I possibly can, but I will also take care of me. By taking care of me, I can better take care of my family and be a true role model for my daughter and son. I want my children to be strong and independent and also to love themselves for who they are. If I don’t love myself, then I’m giving them a bad model to follow and that will continue to be a cycle.

  2. BG–WOW….that is quite a vision for the New Year. I guess the mountains of Tennessee really are magical! 😉 You will find that the changes to your soul are the easiest because they require you to connect with the person you really are and really want to be. When you find that inner strength, everything else falls into place!

    BTW…for those watching, BG is The Marine’s sister and one of my very best friends. We have been so close for so many years that I consider her my sister also! Peace and love dearest. ~~Dee

Leave a Reply

