Sexsational Ladies: Just In Case

icon_christmas2

Ok….I admit it! 

I am “that girl” everyone goes to on girls night out for condoms!  I am the one who knows what flavors and styles give you the most bang for your buck.  My condoms are personal….they are me….an expression of my freedom and sexuality.

Honestly, there are so few sexual products that I absolutely love enough to carry on my person everyday.  Just in Case is exactly that product.  It is a pretty little make-up mirror on the outside.  BUT, it holds a dirty little secret inside!  Condoms.

I love Just In Case for so many reasons.  First, of course, I love that someone has answered the female call to  have a pretty case for women to carry condoms without just carrying around a box!  These super sleek gold and metallic cases are the perfect little hiding place for my favorite condoms.  Plus, knowing that my condoms are carefully tucked away in my Just in Case gives me the piece of mind that they are safe from damage in my purse without tucking them into that little tampon zipper pocket (you know the one I mean!!).  Like you want to dig through a bunch of tampons to get a condom….mood killer!

Second, I love that 5% of all profits from Just In Case goes to support AID charities.  So, I can look really cool with my Just In Case condom case, be completely protected, and help eliminate AID.  Loving that.  More than, I loved my opportunity to connect with Marsha G. Bartenetti and Rachael Sudu, the mother / daughter team that created Just In Case.   You know that I love strong, innovative women.  Especially, these women who joined together to make women proud of their sexuality.  Rachael has given 3 Just In Case condom keepers to our Orgasmic Christmas contest

May I just suggest that women everywhere go NOW and give these little stocking stuffers to all of your girlfriends, sisters, daughters, and mothers they love enough to keep sexually safe!  Enjoy my interview with Rachael of Just in Case. ~~Dee

___________________________________________________________________________________

1–What prompted you to create “Just In Case?”  My mom had the idea for JIC back in the early 80’s… we lived in Woodside down the road from Carl Djarassi (one of the inventors of the birth control pills) and he always said that the condom was a great means of birth control and prevented STD’s but it had an awful image… my mom thought of Just In Case and the attorney laughed her out of the office stating that “no woman would EVER carry a condom in her purse…”  Flash forward to 2003… I had been a makeup artist for years and Sex and the City was my favorite show… mom and I had always talked about creating the case and going into business together was the next step. Of course we were also compelled by the lack of knowledge and acknowledgment of the immense sexual health issues women are facing here in the US…HPV, Herpes in general, and HIV. I lived in San Francisco for 12 years when AIDS really hit; I saw the premiere of Angels In America on the stage at ACT (I’m aging myself now!)…to see this disease spread because we as a society have plunged our heads into the sand makes me want to scream. Well, instead of screaming we decided to go into business.jic_sm

2–Do you see the stigma of condoms connected to any social issues?  Condoms are equated with promiscuity. So are any sexually transmitted diseases. And although that might be true to a point, times have changed. I myself didn’t get married until I was 29. I would consider it a safe bet that any 29 year old would still be a virgin now. Not impossible but a pretty safe bet. So if women are marrying later, having children later, my guess is that they are having more relationships between the teenage years and marrying years. That in and of itself raises the risk for anyone.  Religion plays a major factor in all of this as well. The US has a very Puritanical view on sex. When reality and ideology conflict, disaster occurs. Sex is such a simple mistake… we have this idea that sexually transmitted diseases have to be under very “risky” circumstances… with a hooker or stripper or under drug induced spell… in the heat of the moment people make mistakes and all it takes is once. Sometimes it’s not even through a “mistake”. Your partner who looks healthy and has yearly exams can simply be a carrier of a disease without showing symptoms… unless they ask for a particular test, they may be spreading an STD to you unintentionally and unknowingly.

3–Why did it take so long for “Just In Case” to reach its time?  I think we are actually “before our time”… we are experiencing an uphill battle with the compacts simply because the thoughts about condoms haven’t changed much. When you have an administration that states abstinence only education is the way to protect our children, it represents a society that believes ignorance is bliss. Very scary when it comes to ones health. What makes now the right time? However, I believe the pendulum is swinging towards rational thought.

  • I just read on People.com yesterday an interview with Sarah Palin and there was an interesting answer she gave the interviewer about abstinence education:
  • Has this changed how you talk about sex with your other children?
  • SP: I’ve always been a proponent of making sure kids understand – even in schools – they’d better take preventative measures so that they don’t find themselves in these less than ideal circumstances. Perhaps Bristol could be a good example to other young women that life happens and preventative measures are, first and foremost, the option that should be considered –
  • Do you mean abstinence or contraception?
  • SP: Well, both. Ideally abstinence. But we have not been ones to say that students, should not know what preventive measures are all about. I’ve been taken aback by some criticism that mainstream media has thrown my way saying, Oh, what a hypocrite she is and she’s now learned her lesson because she’s been against sex education in the schools. And I’m like, when? Where? When have I ever said that there should be no sex education taught in our homes or even in our schools? 

Interesting that the VP that was selected to placate a very right-wing, ultra religious group has stated something so, dare I say, logical.

4–Is there a benefit to starting safe sex awareness at a young age?  Condoms are very contriversal for teens.  Of course there’s a benefit. Children can do nothing but benefit from the truth. The truth can be told in an “age appropriate” way. The key is to create a clear line of communication between parents and children so they feel free to discuss anything and everything. Or if parents are embarrassed to talk to their kids, they need to empower their children to direct questions to their doctors. We all teach our children morals and appropriate behavior and we need to support those teachings with facts of consequences and rewards. HIV is a consequence of neither good nor bad behavior, just behavior plain and simple. Being tested and knowing your status, gives you the freedom of truth. Requiring the use of protection or choosing abstinence is rewarded by a feeling of commitment to yourself and your own health and well-being. When you combine that with a spiritual and mental state of well-being, there’s very little that can stand in the way of your happiness.

5–“Just In Case” represents two generations of strong women (Marsha G. Bartenetti with her business partner and daughter Rachael Sudul) dedicated to safe sex and sexuality.  Was it easy to address issues of safe sex and sexuality?  It was easy for us because we both know how to talk. We come at this issue from a different angle… we’re both moms (I have young children) and we also have the mother/daughter relationship. We aren’t doctors, we’re regular people, and neither of us have experienced an STD ourselves, but we of course know people who have and who have died from them. The thought “that can’t happen to me” can’t go through people’s heads when we talk because we are in the boat that it hasn’t happened to us, but we are VERY aware that it could. We can’t diminish the stories out there about women who are living with these diseases because we “can’t relate to their stories.” There is a story out there that matches yours–I guarantee it.

6–Whats next for “Just In Case?”  We will be launching a new compact next year and I hope to get our men’s line out soon! It truly is amazing how time consuming the design part is!! It has to be perfect.

Orgasmic Christmas:  Have you signed up for my super sexy Orgasmic Christmas?  If not…what vibrating pleasures you are missing!!!  With sexy stuff from OhMiBod, Babeland, Susan Crain Bakos, XToyStore, and JustInCase….winning one of the 11 prizes in the Orgasmic Christmas contest can change the answer to whether you have been “naughty or nice” this year!

6 thoughts on “Sexsational Ladies: Just In Case

  1. It’s so pretty, and i love reading the story behind their success.
    What a bold move, and how cool for a mother and daughter team to be talking about something so natural and in our face yet often kept behind closed doors….tsk tsk, they’ve made being safe so cool – thanks for bringing it to our attention Dee.

  2. Condoms are an excellent survival tool as well!

    In emergencies they carry 6 litres of water and its strength and flexibilty allow it to perform various tasks from contstrictive bandage to sterile glove. Not to mention the accompaning lubricant that can be used to losen tight fittings and aid insertions of a different kind.

    McGuyvar never reached his potential with a swiss army knife! He should have packed a condom as well.

  3. Nigel–If you think that a condom is an amazing life saving device, then you should see a maxie pad work. Geezz….made to absorb blood! Smack one of those thing on your head next time you are in a car accident!! 8) ~~Dee

  4. VERRRRY nice! What’s funny is that I just bought condoms last night. I basically butted in front of the guy who was hovering around them but didn’t want to look like he was buying them. I cheerfully plucked my choice from the rack and gave him a big smile.

    btw –Little lesson learning — remember that you are allergic to latex BEFORE you do the deed. ha..ha.ha… 🙂

Leave a Reply

