Pray for the Troops

One of the things that has most influenced my life was the time that I spent as a military wife during the first Gulf War.  To this day, I can not pass someone in uniform without tears welling in my eyes for the people they leave behind.  I can not watch the fake war movies that present war as a glory inspired past time for remembering that the troops give their lives on the battlefield everyday for the liberties we take for granted.  I can not pretent that the war coverage on the news is strictly a political attempt to gain press coverage. 

The war is about human souls…loosing their lives…with the hope that we–the people at home–will make the politicians use their service to benefit our country.  This, however, is not happening.

For anyone not sure about the exact standing:

Casualties in Iraq:  The Human Cost of Occupation (source: www.AntiWar.com)

American Deaths   
Since war began (3/19/03): 4113
Since “Mission Accomplished” (5/1/03) 3974
Since Capture of Saddam (12/13/03): 3652
Since Handover (6/29/04): 3254
Since Election (1/31/05): 2676

American Wounded Official Estimated
Total Wounded: 30333

US Military Deaths – Afghanistan 542

In special recognition, love, and support of the efforts our troops…I dedicate today, the 4th of July, to the troops and their families…who wait, hope, and pray.

Please join me–and them–in a moment of prayer for the safe return of our troop to the American soil we all love so much.  And, feel free to grab the yellow ribbon in this post for your blog or website to show your support for the troops!  ~~Dee

4 thoughts on “Pray for the Troops

  1. oh you know me … i’m a sucker for a uniform, especially having been in one myself

    thanks for thinking of me, us, them

    i do think the hardest job is being at home … waiting on a soldier to come home safely

    semper fi from this air force girl!!

  2. TG–My Kitty is an Air Force girl too! I know you both know….hugs to you. My favorite Milton quote adds an AMEN to your comment:

    “They also serve that only stand and wait.”

    I have done the stand and wait part. Watched the TV not knowing where he was…if that bomb or dead Marine they were talking about was him or not….breathed that moment of relief when I received a letter from him (they did not have email for troops then!) even though I knew it was over two weeks old. Felt the guilt and shame of feeling thankful that it was not him…knowing that it was someone elses husband / son / brother killed. And…its been 18 years (we spent our first married year apart as he was in Iraq)…and I still tear up as I write this. Yes….Semper Fi….and Thank you for wearing that uniform with pride! ~~Dee

Leave a Reply

